top of page

FEEDING PROGRAMME

45 children between the ages of 4 and 17 took part in the programme, including 25 girls and 20 boys. The children come from difficult family backgrounds and unfortunately receive little or no food at home. During the week they are fed once a day by the school, but unfortunately this means that at weekends the children's diet is not organised. This leads to a situation without help and unfortunately also to the children acting without help. Above all, the girls are in danger of having to do a lot for food. 

The children and young people come from different age groups and need different levels of support. Diversity is also important in this aspect - especially for girls it is important to show possibilities in this patriarchal environment. 

Official start: Saturday, 11 May 2024, with the first meal

Goal: Provide nutritious meals and create a conducive environment for social interaction and personal development currently every Saturday

Main components:

  • Food distribution

  • Children's games

  • Conversations / needs analysis

The children took part in local and cultural games that encouraged teamwork, creativity and physical activity, all of which contribute to holistic development. Participants enjoyed lunch together and then listened to inspiring stories and motivational talks. The dedicated team on site contributed significantly to the success of the programme. Representatives from the Lodges of Botswana, who are also supporters, offered to offer three young people a traineeship in their company, and another supporter from the IT sector showed interest in offering the children IT training. The team is planning follow-up meetings with local supporters to determine the scope of the training and support measures for the children. In addition, the food programme will be expanded to include more educational and training opportunities, which will require continued financial and voluntary support.

image.png
DSC_0033.jpg

A holistic approach is also important to us in this project and we are therefore developing a programme with the local social worker in order to take responsibility for the parents and understand their needs or problems and thus build a safe and good home for the children.

The children and young people are currently supported with food and mental support every Saturday and, depending on donations, we will certainly also offer the programme on Sundays. Thanks to your help, we have been able to support the children's physical, mental and personal development, create new opportunities for education and promote social interaction and a positive, supportive community.

Your commitment makes a huge difference! Let's continue to fight together for a better and fairer future for children in Maun, Botswana.

bottom of page

top of page

FEEDING PROGRAMME - KIDS IN MAUN

Am Programm nahmen 45 Kinder im Alter von 4 bis 17 Jahren teil, darunter 25 Mädchen und 20 Jungen. Die Kinder kommen aus schwierigen familiären Umfeldern und erhalten leider zu Hause wenig bis gar kein Essen. Unter der Woche werden sie einmal pro Tag von der Schule verpflegt, jedoch heisst dies leider an den Wochenenden ist die Ernährung der Kinder nicht geregelt. Dies führt zu einer aushilfslosen Situation und auch zu leider aushilfslosen Taten der Kinder. Vor allem sind die Mädchen dabei in Gefahr viele für etwas zu Essen zu tun. 

Die Kinder und Jugendlichen kommen verschiedenen Altersgruppe, welche unterschiedliche Unterstützung brauchen. Vielfalt ist auch in diesem Aspekt wichtig – vor allem für Mädchen ist es in diesem patriarchalisch geprägten Umfeld wichtig, Möglichkeiten aufzuzeigen. 

Offizieller Start: Samstag, 11. Mai 2024, mit der ersten Mahlzeit

Ziel: Bereitstellung nährstoffreicher Mahlzeiten und Schaffung einer förderlichen Umgebung für soziale Interaktionen und persönliche Entwicklung aktuell jeden Samstag

Hauptkomponenten:

  • Essensverteilung

  • Kinderspiele

  • Gespräche / Bedarfsanalyse

Die Kinder nahmen an lokalen und kulturellen Spielen teil, welche Teamarbeit, Kreativität und körperliche Aktivität förderten, was zu der ganzheitlichen Entwicklung beitragen soll. Die Teilnehmenden genossen ein gemeinsames Mittagessen und lauschten danach inspirierenden Geschichten und motivierenden Gesprächen. Das engagierte Team vor Ort trug wesentlich zum Erfolg des Programms bei. Vertreter der Lodges of Botswana, welche ebenfalls Unterstützer sind, boten an, drei Jugendliche in ihrer Firma ein Trainee anzubieten, und eine weitere Unterstützerin aus der IT-Branche zeigte Interesse daran, den Kindern IT-Schulungen anzubieten. Das Team plant Folgetreffen mit Unterstützern vor Ort, um den Umfang der Schulungen und Unterstützungsmassnahmen für die Kinder festzulegen. Zudem soll das Nahrungsprogramm erweitert werden, um mehr Bildungs- und Schulungsmöglichkeiten einzubeziehen, was fortgesetzte finanzielle und freiwillige Unterstützung erfordert.

image.png
DSC_0033.jpg

Eine holistische Herangehensweise ist uns auch in diesem Projekt wichtig und darum sind wir in der Erarbeitung eines Programmes mit der Sozialarbeiterin vor Ort, um auch die Eltern in die Verantwortung zu nehmen resp. die Bedürfnisse oder Probleme zu verstehen und so den Kindern ein sicheres und gutes Zuhause aufzubauen.

 

Die Kinder und Jugendlichen werden aktuell jeden Samstag mit Essen und mentalem Support unterstützt und je nach Spendenaufruf werden wir das Programm sicherlich auch an Sonntagen anbieten. Dank eurer Hilfe konnten wir die physische, geistige und persönliche Entwicklung der Kinder fördern, neue Möglichkeiten für Ausbildung schaffen und soziale Interaktionen sowie eine positive, unterstützende Gemeinschaft fördern.

Euer Engagement macht einen riesigen Unterschied! Lasst uns gemeinsam weiterhin für eine bessere und fairere Zukunft für Kinder in Maun, Botswana kämpfen.

bottom of page