OUR TEAM

We are passionate about this project, that's for sure - but how did the team come together?
 

If we have not worked together in the same team for 4 years, partly in the financial area, then we are certainly related or married to each other. This creates a basis of trust and a sense of community, which are essential for a heart project.

Isabelle Tschugmall and Sofie Moens mostly live in Botswana and have taken care of the needs of the Motswana women (official name of the Botswana population). The idea was then carried home to Switzerland and without hesitation we were set up as a team.
And now? Well, we hope that with the help of you as a member we can make a difference in the lives of individuals in Botswana.

Isabelle Tschugmall_edited_edited.jpg

Isabelle Tschugmall

President

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

I am Isabelle Tschugmall, 30 years old and from Switzerland.

I originally studied business communication and changed to the African bush after ten years in the financial jungle. I am a trained Nature Guide & Trails Guide and mostly are around in Maun, Botswana myself.

In addition to the bush life, my heart blooms with music and writing (blog www.yishainthemiddle.com) and I'm a passionate entrepreneur.


Since we discovered a lack of female safari guides and then increasingly dealt with the topic of female empowerment, it quickly became clear to Sofie and me that we would like to focus not only on safari but also on women's support in Botswana in general.

Melanie Tschugmall_edited.jpg

Melanie Tschugmall

Vice-President

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

My name is Melanie Tschugmall and I am on the Presidium of the NPO with my sister Isabelle. I have a background in tourism management and strategic marketing with a focus on behavioral economics.
 

Other passions of mine are travel, technology and trends as well as ballet.

When Isabelle came up with the idea, I was hooked. I strongly believe that if women and the next generation can be empowered in Botswana at the same time, we can make a lasting positive difference. The focus is on helping people to help themselves and is based on individual responsibility.

Sofie Moens_edited_edited.jpg

Sofie Moens

Regional
Country Manager

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

I am Sofie Moens, 39 years old and originally from Belgium.

I have been living in Cape Town for 12 years now. I originally studied business administration, accounting and taxes and am now a trained nature guide. I also mostly live in Maun, Botswana myself.

Being part of this NPO gives me a change to give something back to the communities we work with and help, if to a lesser extent, to change and improve the lives and future of amazing women and youth, that we encounter through our adventures.

In my free time I like to go triathlon and spoil myself with good food and wine.

KathrinRaab2016_edited.jpg

Kathrin Raab

Management Board Organisation & Controlling

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

My name is Kathrin Raab, I'm 42 years old. I am originally from Bavaria. I am married to Martin and 10 years ago we moved to our new Swiss adopted home. I studied banking and business administration. In Munich I worked for many years in the banking sector with a focus on lending and IT.

I got to know Isabelle and your non-profit organization through Martin. Her enthusiasm and passion for Botswana immediately infected me. I am therefore very happy to actively support you as an auditor. I am convinced that with your help we can make a big difference on a small scale.

Martin MitVest No-Tie_edited_edited.jpg

Martin Raab

Chief Financial Officer

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

My name is Martin Raab, I am 40 years old and have been working in the multinational banking and investment sector since 1996. The career positions include Germany, the USA and Switzerland.

My passion for the capital market brought me together with Isabelle in Zurich. As a well-rehearsed duo during our professional activity, our cooperation expanded rapidly - for Small Village Botswana!

I take care of the financial and investment issues at our non-profit organization. The clear focus is on the real impact on site. With our investments, we do not want a watering can principle or green washing, but permanent improvements. Targeted funding is our return.

UNSER TEAM

Wir arbeiten mit Herzblut für dieses Projekt, dies ist klar - doch wie kam das Team zusammen?

Wenn wir nicht schon seit 4 Jahren, teilweise im Finanzbereich, zusammen im selben Team gearbeitet haben, dann sind wir sicherlich verwandt oder verheiratet miteinander.

Dies schafft eine Vertrauensbasis und einen Gemeinschaftssinn, welche für ein Herzensprojekt essentiell sind.

Isabelle Tschugmall und Sofie Moens leben grossenteils in Botswana und haben vor Ort die Bedürfnisse der Motswanerinnen (offizielle Bezeichnung der botswanischen Bevölkerung) wahrgenommen. Die Idee wurde dann nach Hause in die Schweiz getragen und ohne zu Zögern waren wir als Team aufgestellt.
Und nun? Nun, hoffen wir, dass wir mit der Hilfe von Ihnen als Mitglied in den Leben der individuellen Personen in Botswana so einiges bewegen dürfen.

Isabelle Tschugmall

Präsidentin

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

Ich bin Isabelle Tschugmall, 30 Jahre alt und aus der Schweiz.

Ursprünglich habe ich Business Communication studiert und habe nach zehn Jahren Finanz-Dschungel in den afrikanischen Busch gewechselt. Ich bin ausgebildeter Nature Guide & Trails Guide und lebe grossenteils selber in Maun, Botswana.

Nebst dem Buschleben, blüht mein Herz bei Musik und dem Texten (Blog

www.yishainthemiddle.com) auf und ich bin mit Herzensblut Entrepreneurin.

Da wir einen Mangel an weiblichen Safari Guides feststelleten und uns dann vermehrt mit dem Thema Female Empowerement beschäftigt haben, war für Sofie und mich schnell klar, dass wir uns nicht nur auf den Safari-Bereich sondern allgemein der Frauenunterstützung in Botswana annehmen möchten.

Melanie Tschugmall

Vize-Präsidentin

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

Mein Name ist Melanie Tschugmall und gemeinsam  mit meiner Schwester Isabelle bin ich im Präsidum des NPO. Ich habe einen Background in Tourismusmanagement und Strategischem Marketing mit Fokus auf Verhaltensökonomie.

 

Weitere Passionen von mir sind Reisen, Technologie und Trends als auch Ballet.

Als Isabelle mit der Idee auf mich zukam, war ich Feuer und Flamme. Ich glaube stark daran, dass wenn Frauen und gleichzeitig die nächste Generation in Botswana befähigt werden kann, wir nachhaltig etwas Positives bewirken können. Dabei steht die Hilfe zur Selbsthilfte im Zentrum und basiert auf Eigenverantwortung des jeweiligen Individum.

Sofie Moens

Regional
Country Manager

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

Ich bin Sofie Moens, 39 Jahre alt und ursprünglich aus Belgien.

Mittlerweile lebe ich seit 12 Jahren in Cape Town. Ursprünglich habe ich Betriebswirtschaft, Buchhaltung und Steuern studiert und bin nun ausgebildeter Nature Guide. Ich lebe ebenfalls grossenteils selber in Maun, Botswana.

Teil dieser NPO zu sein, gibt mir eine Veränderung, um den Gemeinschaften, mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten, etwas zurückzugeben und, wenn auch nur in geringerem Masse, zu helfen, das Leben und die Zukunft der erstaunlichen Frauen und Jugendlichen zu verändern und zu verbessern, denen wir durch unsere Abenteuer begegnen. 

In der Freizeit bin ich gerne im Triathlon unterwegs und verwöhne mich mit gutem Essen und Wein.

Kathrin Raab

Vorstand Organisation & Controlling

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

Mein Name ist Kathrin Raab, ich bin 42 Jahre. Ursprünglich komme ich aus Bayern. Ich bin mit Martin verheiratet und vor 10 Jahren sind wir in unsere neue Schweizer Wahlheimat gezogen. Ich habe eine Bankausbildung und BWL studiert. In München habe ich viele Jahre im Bankbereich mit Schwerpunkt Kreditgeschäft und IT gearbeitet. 

Isabelle und Ihre Non-Profit-Organisation habe ich durch Martin kennengelernt. Ihr Enthusiasmus und die Leidenschaft für Botswana haben mich sofort angesteckt. Ich freue mich daher sehr, als Revisorin aktiv zu unterstützten. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass wir mit Ihrer Hilfe im kleinen wirklich grosses bewirken können.

Martin Raab

Vorstand Finanzen

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

Mein Name ist Martin Raab, ich bin 40 Jahre alt und seit dem Jahr 1996 im multinationalen Bank- und Investmentbereich tätig. Die Karrierestationen umfassen Deutschland, die USA und die Schweiz.

Meine Passion für den Kapitalmarkt hat mich in Zürich mit Isabelle zusammengebracht. Als eingespieltes Duo während unserer beruflichen Tätigkeit kam es rasch zu Expansion unserer Zusammenarbeit – für Small Village Botswana!

Ich kümmere mich bei unserer Non-Profit-Organisation um die Finanz- und Anlagethemen. Klarer Fokus ist dabei auf den echten Impact vor Ort gerichtet. Wir möchten mit unseren Investitionen kein Giesskannenprinzip oder «Green Washing», sondern dauerhafte Verbesserungen. Gezielte Förderung ist unsere Rendite.

Unsere Partner

Cafelina Logo.jpg
Lerato logo-02.jpg

Erhalten Sie regelmässie Informationen zu unserem
NPO, den Projekten als auch female empowerment in Botswana.

© 2020 - The Small Village Botswana // Zürich, Schweiz

Website Creation Isabelle Tschugmall - in the middle